21st century cello works

21st Century Cello Works2021-04-02T17:43:55-04:00

featured composer: george lewis

George E. Lewis is the Edwin H. Case Professor of American Music at Columbia University, where he serves as Area Chair in Composition and Faculty in Historical Musicology. A Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and a Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy, Lewis’s other honors include a MacArthur Fellowship (2002) and a Guggenheim Fellowship (2015), a Doris Duke Artist Award (2019), a United States Artists Walker Fellowship (2011), an Alpert Award in the Arts (1999), and fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Lewis studied composition with Muhal Richard Abrams at the AACM School of Music, and trombone with Dean Hey. A member of the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) since 1971, Lewis's work in electronic and computer music, computer-based multimedia installations, and notated and improvisative forms is documented on more than 150 recordings. His work has been presented by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, London Philharmonia Orchestra, Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart, Mivos Quartet, Boston Modern Orchestra Project, London Sinfonietta, Spektral Quartet, Talea Ensemble, Dinosaur Annex, Ensemble Dal Niente, Ensemble Pamplemousse, Wet Ink, Ensemble Erik Satie, Eco Ensemble, and others, with commissions from American Composers Orchestra, International Contemporary Ensemble, Harvestworks, Ensemble Either/Or, Orkestra Futura, Turning Point Ensemble, Studio Dan, San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, 2010 Vancouver Cultural Olympiad, IRCAM, Glasgow Improvisers Orchestra, and others. Lewis’s music is published by Edition Peters.

Lewis has served as Fromm Visiting Professor of Music, Harvard University; Ernest Bloch Visiting Professor of Music, University of California, Berkeley; Paul Fromm Composer in Residence, American Academy in Rome; Resident Scholar, Center for Disciplinary Innovation, University of Chicago; and CAC Fitt Artist in Residence, Brown University. Lewis received the 2012 SEAMUS Award from the Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States, and his book, A Power Stronger Than Itself:  The AACM and American Experimental Music (University of Chicago Press, 2008) received the American Book Award and the American Musicological Society’s Music in American Culture Award; Lewis was elected to Honorary Membership in the Society in 2016.  Lewis is the co-editor of the two-volume Oxford Handbook of Critical Improvisation Studies (2016), and his opera Afterword (2015), commissioned by the Gray Center for Arts and Inquiry at the University of Chicago, has been performed in the United States, United Kingdom, and the Czech Republic.

In 2015, Lewis received the degree of Doctor of Music (DMus, honoris causa)from the University of Edinburgh.  In 2017, Lewis received the degree of Doctor of Humane Letters (PhD, honoris causa) from New College of Florida. In 2017 Lewis received the degree of Doctor of Music from Harvard University.

Professor Lewis came to Columbia in 2004, having previously taught at the University of California, San Diego, Mills College, the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, the Koninklijke Conservatorium Den Haag, and Simon Fraser University's Contemporary Arts Summer Institute.


newcelloworks archive


Agocs, Kati: Saint Elizabeth Bells (2014)

Saint Elizabeth Bells takes its inspiration from bell sounds of the Saint Elizabeth Cathedral in central Budapest. The cathedral is named after Saint Elizabeth of Hungary, a Catholic saint who [...]

2019-06-13T04:35:12-04:00Instrumentation Cello and Cimbalom|Work Type

Agocs, Kati: Cello Duet (2007)

Commissioned by the Orchestra of Saint Luke's (New York) for their Second Helpings Series 'Notable Women Festival', curated by Joan Tower, in 2007.

2019-06-13T04:35:25-04:00Instrumentation Two Cellos|Work Type

Agocs, Kati: Versprechen (Promise) (2004)

"Kati Agócs's Verprechen (Promise) reimagines a Bach chorale using the sort of variations on note sequences favoured by Serialist composers. This is beautifully varied, highly textured writing..." -Musical Toronto

2019-06-13T04:32:10-04:00Instrumentation Solo Cello|Work Type

Akel, Kalie: Lamento e Correnteza Ribeirinhas (2013)

This work will explore the polyphonic aspect of the cello with a melodic language. It was composed for the cellist Diego Cardoso, which premiered the piece in Paris at the [...]

2024-02-26T10:12:15-05:00Instrumentation for Cello Solo|Work Type

Asherov Kalus, Ayala: Yizkor (Remember) (2009) (2009)

Mourning can be both private and public. When we visit a grave or observe the anniversary of a person's death, we generally do so in private. "Yizkor" (which is Hebrew [...]

2019-06-13T04:16:06-04:00Instrumentation Cello|Work Type

Assad, Clarice: Lemuria (2019) (2018)

A couple of years ago, after a difficult time, I started meditating.  As I breathed mantras and sutras day in and day out, one morning I awoke suddenly from a trance [...]

2019-06-13T02:59:21-04:00Instrumentation 2 Solo Cellists, Cello Choir and Percussion|Work Type

Auerbach, Lera: Sonata for Violoncello (2003)

2019-06-13T04:32:24-04:00Instrumentation Solo Cello|Work Type

Auerbach, Lera: Sonata for Violoncello and Piano (2002)

2019-06-13T04:32:47-04:00Instrumentation Cello and Piano|Work Type

Auerbach, Lera: Postcriptum (2006)

2019-06-13T04:27:53-04:00Instrumentation Cello, Piano and Violin|Work Type

Avner, Dorman: Cello Concerto [2012] (2000)

In 3 movements, played without pause. In a sentence, this is a concerto for a cello that forgot it was a cello. I’m not sure that there is a storyline [...]

2019-06-13T04:34:51-04:00Instrumentation Cello and Orchestra 2(2pic).2.1+bcl.2/2.1.1+btbn.0/timp/str; concertante pf, dmkit, db|Work Type
Go to Top