Publisher: Dunvagen Music Publishers
Duration: 00:33:00
Instrumentation: Cello and Orchestra
Nickname: “NAQOYQATSI”
Year: 2012
Work Type:

The music for Philip Glass’ second concerto for cello and orchestra is cobbled from a 2001 film score, Naqoyqatsi: Life as War. Glass seems to have particular success when using Hopi Indian words as musical inspiration. Remember the famous scores to the films Koyaanisqatsi and Powaqqatsi? …

Music by Philip Glass Commissioned by the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Premiere: March 30, 2012 with cellist Matt Haimovitz and the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Dennis Russell Davies.